Lamar Odom Speaks Out for the First Time About His Near-Fatal Drug Overdose

Last October, Lamar Odom, former L.A. Lakers player and ex-husband of Khloe Kardashian, suffered a near-fatal drug overdose at a brothel in Nevada, falling into a coma for several days. Now, over a year later, Odom entered a treatment facility to “maintain his sobriety.” Before entering rehab, Odom sat down for an interview with the show The Doctors, opening up for the first time about what host Dr. Travis Stork calls “his demons.”

Odom says he remembers “being in that brothel, and thinking I was going to just rest a little bit” before waking up in the hospital. “I didn’t know until Khloé had told me that I was in a coma,” he said. “I couldn’t even speak at the time, I couldn’t talk. Nothing would come out when I opened my mouth, so I was scared.”

He said that he had been in a dark mental state before the drug overdose, and believes he survived so he could share his story with others. “I wasn’t in a good place mentally, especially mentally, before the incident happened,” Odom said. “My wife at the time [Khloé ], we were going through some things. I was in a dark place. So, I guess they say everything happens for a reason. So, I guess the reason is I’m here and I can tell the story.”

The hosts say they aired a preview clip now because news of the interview had leaked to the press. The Doctors will air the full interview in January, after Odom completes his treatment in San Diego. Odom, who appeared on Keeping Up with the Kardashians, is reportedly planning his own reality show that’s focused on his recovery, according to Us Weekly.

Leave a Reply

